Basing Material

Shamelessly copied @avernos idea of premixing basing material. Normally I like to fiddle around and make the bases somewhat ‘unique-ish’. But with this many figures needing colors and basing, I wanted a quick and easy way to apply that. So here’s what I did:

  • I didn’t have fine sand in the right color. So mixed some Warlord’s Desert Sand with Army Painters Werewolf Fur and a tiny bit of Cultist Robe. And left that to dry overnight
  • Years ago I raided the local playground for sand (this has been baked at quite a high temperature for, I think 3 hours, to make it as ‘clean’ as possible). Added a little bit of this into the colored Desert Sand, to add some rougher textures. Did what I could to avoid the ‘bigger stones’. For 15mm they quickly look huge.
  • Dropped in a fair bit of 4Grounds Spring Static Grass.
  • Since I want this to have a sprintime/early summer feel, I also added in some Flower Soft*. This isn’t a product I’ve seen all that much in the Wargaming Community. But it is used in scrapbooking and card making world. It’s essentially blended up, colored foam. So you could make it yourself. I just find it easier to buy, since it comes in a huge variety of colors. For this project I used a mix of whites, reds, oranges and greens. As a side note, adding glue to the top of your tufts and dipping it in flower soft, is an easy way to add flowers for your 28mm figures,
  • Last, before applying the mix to the bases, I coated the base in Vallejo’s European Mud. So if my mix doesn’t cover completely, the ground doesn’t look ‘off’.

*You can get flower soft of Ebay, from various craft stores etc. If you’re completely lost, here’s a link to an american store: https://katysuedesigns.com/collections/flower-soft But I would suggest you do a quick google search and see if there isn’t a store near you selling this, if you’d like to try it out.

Below is the end result, neatly tucked away in a little tub.

Leave a comment